Our Anniversary Dinner at 22 Prime

For our 6th wedding anniversary, John and I wanted to celebrate somewhere nearby since it was a Monday night.  My cousin Natalie works as a chef at 22 Prime, so I texted her to ask if she could reserve a table for us.

She said sure, and on the day itself she pretended that she had forgotten all about it!  So I had no idea she would do this:

My cousin set up a private little space for us, a table for two with a view, complete with flowers, candles, and rose petals galore.

Thank you Nat!!  If I had known you would do this, I would have brought an actual camera instead of just my phone. <3

Our lovely dinner began with some bread and breadsticks, served with three kinds of dip: hummus, tomato salsa, and liver pate.

John ordered 22 Prime’s Surf and Turf set menu, which includes soup of the day, but Nat sent out delicious lobster bisques for both of us instead!

Followed by complimentary starters — sardines in brine, oyster rockefeller, and prawn cocktail with chili sauce and lemon.

Next we had the popular Chef Rick’s Cheese Bread, which is sundried tomato bread topped with four cheeses.  Being big pizza lovers, both John and I enjoyed this.

I love arugula, so I ordered arugula greens with shaved cheese and a deep-fried crumb-crusted whole egg in the center.  This is served with balsamic vinaigrette on the side, and a small dish of browned shiitake mushrooms.

John’s Caesar Salad was part of the Surf and Turf menu.

22 Prime is well known for its steaks, and is listed as one of Asia’s finest restaurants in the Miele guide 2010-2011.  But I wasn’t in the mood for a steak, and decided to have some Beef Bourguignon and potato mash, with a side of grilled asparagus.

My beef tasted like good home cooking, but I had some of John’s Ribeye Steak and immediately wished I had ordered the same.  It was tender and melt-in-your-mouth good.

Instead of the regular dessert included in the Surf and Turf menu, Nat sent out three kinds of dessert for both John and I.  This is the Chocolate Marquise, which is my favorite of 22 Prime’s desserts:  chocolate mousse with vanilla cream and pistaschio bits.

The Mr and Mrs.

And me with my cousin Chef Natalie, who looks 12 but is actually 20+.  Thank you so much for setting up such a romantic anniversary dinner for us Nat!

22 PRIME, 22/F Discovery Suites, ADB Avenue, Pasig, TELEPHONE 683.8222 local 3702 or 3722.

www.discoverysuites.com

7 responses to “Our Anniversary Dinner at 22 Prime

  1. Such a handsome couple! Happy Anniversary, Pam and John! :)

  2. Hi! :)

    Seems like a very romantic night. :P And the food looks delicious!

  3. so sweet!!! Happy 6th anniversary! seems so long ago that I heard your dad say his speech about you and your fantastic cooking!! was it fried rice he said??

  4. Budget please?

Leave a Reply

